What Type of Personal Auto Insurance Is Required by Law in New York?

The State of New York is considered to be what is called a “No-Fault State”. This means that drivers need personal auto liability insurance and personal injury protection.

Additionally, New York requires that all personal auto insurance policies include coverage for uninsured motorists. The limits associated with automobile insurance are considerably higher than in most states throughout the country.

Despite that, the most basic requirements may not result in enough coverage to properly protect you. In this guide, we will attempt to answer the most common questions about personal auto insurance in NY.

Is it Possible to Get Personal Auto Insurance That Will Let Me Drive Any Car?

It does not matter if you have comprehensive car insurance or a third-party personal auto insurance policy, it will only be attached to your personal vehicle. It will not follow you if you drive someone else’s vehicle.

If you want to be covered on another person’s vehicle, that individual will need to list you on their policy as a driver.

What Is the Average Cost of Personal Auto Insurance in the State of New York?

The average monthly cost of insurance for your vehicle in the State of New York is about $230; however, it is possible to obtain cheaper coverage by comparing companies that service your area within the state.

How Much Personal Auto Insurance is Required in New York?

As a New York resident, you will need $25,000 bodily injury protection per individual/$50,000 per accident and $10,000 in property damage liability. You will also need bodily injury protection in the event of death for a total of $100,000.

Is it Possible to Get Car Insurance in New York with No Driver’s License?

It is possible to get car insurance without a driver’s license in New York, but extremely difficult. It is easier to not have a driver’s license to buy a vehicle or register that vehicle.

Nearly all car insurance companies require an individual to have a DL when obtaining personal auto insurance.

Can I Drive My Parent’s Car Without Personal Auto Insurance?

Most insurance companies will cover someone if they are driving the car of the policyholder provides permission, but not regularly.

If you need to drive your parent’s car on a consistent basis, it is advised that you have them add your name on their policy. It is not legal for you to drive anyone’s car with no insurance coverage, whatsoever.

How Long Can a Car be Driven in New York Without Insurance?

If you have just now purchased a car, New York allows for a 7 day – 30-day grace period in order to alert the insurance company about the new vehicle.

In some instances, car lots will not allow you to take possession of the car or drive it off of their lot without their being insurance in place. This protects them just in case an accident occurs.

Where Can I Get Personal Auto Insurance?

If you are in the market for personal auto insurance, you may contact us here at Modica Associates today. We will work closely with you to find the best coverage for your unique needs. Contact us today by calling the following number: 718-855-1836

Recent Posts